OARSI Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is intended to honor a person who has devoted much of their career to the advancement of the science associated with osteoarthritis. It may be in a broad area or may be in a specific area of the disease, but preferably both. For example, the broad advancement may be in the promotion and education about osteoarthritis, leadership in the field, a past leader of the society, repeated innovations that have advanced the field.  Examples of a specific arena would be epidemiology, pathology, surgery, cartilage biology, molecular biology, biomechanics.

Some specifics for consideration:

  • Time committed to osteoarthritis research: at least 20 years
  • Note:  Osteoarthritis may not be their only contribution to the medical sciences
  • The awardee does not have to be a member of  OARSI
  • The awardee may not be an active member of the OARSI Board of Directors.
  • Previous award winners are not eligible.
  • Self-nomination is not possible.
  • The awardee is not required to have an MD or PhD.

Submit a statement explaining why your nominee should receive the Lifetime Achievement Award along with CV.  Include a summary of accomplishments and examples of leadership in the field of OA research. Email your letter of nomination to OARSI Executive Director Elizabeth Grotos at egrotos@oarsi.org.  

Lifetime Achievement Award Sponsor:


Past Award Recipients:

Year Recipient Year Recipient
2003 Klaus Kuettner, PhD 2013 Marc C. Hochberg, MD, MPH
2004 Charles Joel Menkes, MD
Michel Lequesne, MD
2014 Karl A. Rudolphi, PhD, DVM
2005 David S. Howell, MD
Leon Sokoloff, MD
2015 David R. Eyre, PhD
George Nuki, MD, FRCP
2006 Anthony Robin Poole, PhD, DSc 2016 Linda Sandell, PhD
2007 Roy D. Altman, MD 2017 Stefan Lohmander, MD, PhD
2008 Roland W. Moskowitz, MD 2018 Mary B. Goldring, PhD
2009 Kenneth D. Brandt, MD
Alice  Maroudas, PhD
2019 Virginia Kraus, MD, PhD
2010 Paul A. Dieppe, MD 2020 Tom Andriacchi, PhD
2011 Dick Heinegård, MD, PhD 2021 Alan Grodzinsky, ScD
2012 David Felson, MD, MPH 2022

Henning Bliddal, MD, DMSci
Stephen Messier, PhD

    2023 Jeffrey N. Katz, MD, MSc