You are here

OARSI Awards

Clinical Research Award  


The purpose of the OARSI Clinical Research Award is to recognize excellence in clinical research related to osteoarthritis. Research domains include, but are not limited to, areas such as epidemiology and health-services research, clinical outcomes, translational research, and therapeutics, encompassing all phases of research having clinical implications.  This research should have been conducted within the last five years. Winner will be acknowledged during the Opening  Ceremony at the World Congress in Vienna, Austria in May, 2020. Winner will receive an honorarium, travel reimbursement and Congress registration. 

Past Award Recipients:

Year Recipient Year Recipient
1990 Paul Dieppe, MD 2011

Martin Englund, MD, PhD

1992 Roland Moskowitz, MD 2012 Michael Doherty, MD, MA, FRCP, ILTM
1994 Stefan Lohmander, MD, PhD 2013 Marie-Pierre Hellio Le Graverand-Gastineau, MD, DSc, PhD
1999 Marc Hochberg, MD, MPH
David Felson, MD, MPH
2014 Ewa Roos, PT, PhD
2001 Roy Altman, MD 2015 Sita Bierma-Zienstra, PhD, S.M.A
2005 Kenneth D. Brandt, MD 2016 Elena Losina, PhD
2006 Timothy Spector, MD, MScm, FRCP 2017 Francis Berenbaum, MD, PhD
2007 Joanne Jordan, MD, MPH 2018 Ali Guermazi, MD, PhD
2008 Michael Nevitt, PhD, MPH 2019 David Hunter, MD, PhD
2009 Leena Sharma, MD 2020 Gillian Hawker, MD, MSc



Felix Eckstein, MD    

Basic Science Research     


The purpose of the OARSI Basic Science Research Award is to promote advancement in basic research in the field of osteoarthritis. Research targets include all areas of basic science with relevance to osteoarthritis.   This research should have been conducted within the last five years. Winner will be acknowledged during the  Opening  Ceremony at the World Congress in Vienna, Austria in May, 2020.  Winner will receive an honorarium, travel reimbursement and Congress registration.

Past Award Recipients:

Year Recipient Year Recipient
1990 Tim Hardingham, BSc, PhD, DSc
Mike Baylis, PhD
2010 Martin Lotz, MD
1992 Jean Pierre Pelletier, MD
Johanne Martel Pelletier, PhD
2011 David Eyre, PhD
1994 David Howell, MD
Fred Woessner,PhD
2012 Shiro Ikegawa, MD, PhD
1997 Chris Evans, PhD 2013 Gerard Ateshian, PhD
1999 David Felson, MD, MPH 2014 Richard Loeser, Jr., MD
2001 Wim van den Berg, PhD 2015 Mary Goldring, PhD
2005 Sergio Jimenez, MD 2016 Farshid Guilak, PhD
2006 Hiroshi Kawaguchi, MD, PhD 2017 Francisco Blanco, MD, PhD
2007 Ernst Hunziker, MD, PhD 2018 James Martin, PhD
2008 Van C. Mow, PhD 2019 Frank Beier, PhD
2009 Amanda Fosang, PhD 2020 Peter van der Kraan, PhD


Featured Resources

OARSI White Paper- OA as a Serious Disease

By Various

Patient Summary- Non Surgical Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis

By Multiple Authors